the unofficial fan blog of the o.c. creator josh schwartz

O.C. episodes that I never rewatch and top five worst episodes

^^^UNWATCHABLE^^^

The O.C. is my favorite television show of all time, but I’m sure everybody can agree there were some pretty craptastic episodes.  I sat through it every week, during the good times, and during the shit times.  Since the show has been over for three years, there are many episodes that I really have not re-watched since they originally aired.  The Season 1 and 2 episodes I mainly don’t re-watch aren’t really because I don’t like them, I just regarded them as filler when they aired so I never have had the desire to re-watch them.  And in the case of the Season 1 episodes, I just got a bit tired of Oliver and Teresa. With Season 2 I thought there was a stretch in the middle where it got a little stale. I will note that I did re-watch The Father Knows Best recently, and it was as boring as I remember it being.  The Season 3 and 4 episodes I do not re-watch are a completely different situation though, I just don’t like the episodes period.  Here is my O.C. episode shitlist, by season of the episodes I don’t re-watch.

Season 1: The Links, The Rivals, The Truth, The Telenovela

Season 2: The Ex-Factor, The Accomplice, The Second Chance, The Lonely Hearts Club, The Father Knows Best

Season 3: The Perfect Storm, The Disconnect, The Chrismukkah Bar Mitz-Vahkkah, The Heavy Lifting, The Road Warrior, The Journey, The Undertow, The Secrets and Lies, The Day After Tomorrow, The Dawn Patrol, The Man of the Year, The Graduates

Season 4: The Sleeping Beauty, The Earth Girls Are Easy, The My Two Dads, The French Connection, The Dream Lover

Here’s the ultimate bottom of the barrel, my top five worst O.C. episodes. I can’t really get too much in detail because I honestly haven’t watched these episodes since they originally aired.

5. The Dream Lover- This was just brutal and the epitome of my problem with Season 4. During Seasons 1 and 2 The O.C. had a perfect mix of drama and humor, Season 3 was then far too dark and Season 4 was far too cheesy and “comedic.” They tried way too hard to be funny and it wasn’t funny to me. The real comedy of The O.C. were the tongue in cheek jokes and ironic/self referential lines from Seasons 1 and 2. It still shocks me that in some interviews Josh Schwartz has called Season 4 better than Season 2, some fans have too. I really don’t get it. So onto the episode some more I think in this episode Seth and Ryan go on a spiritual journey or some shit. Honestly the only thing I remember was Seth seeing an otter in the pool. I think Che thought he was gay for Seth or something too. It was stupid, as bummed as I was about the cancellation news at the time, when I saw this episode I knew they were out of ideas. In order for the show to actually have been able to gone on for Season 5 they would have either needed to find some bullshit way to make Marissa alive, or just totally Dallas Season 4 and pretend it never happened.

4. The French Connection- Terrible episode. If they wanted to do more stupid love triangles why couldn’t they have just kept Marissa around? To me the Ryan/Taylor romance came off as forced, I know there’s a cult online group online who like it but the viewer ratings for Season 4 speak for themselves. I was a fan of Taylor during Season 3 when she was a villain and annoyance to the group, but in Season 4 this phony “new” core four felt really fake and stupid. This episode was probably the worst of the Ryan/Taylor crap. So basically from what I remember Taylor’s ex-french husband came back and wrote some erotic novel that has a sex story about Taylor. I remember the name Peaches being used a lot in the episode, I’m not sure if it was a nickname for Taylor or the name of the book or some kinky sex act but it was all stupid. I think there was something on a page number or something. Basically Ryan’s pissed or something and you think he’s running onto the set of Taylor on some TV show but he isn’t. I don’t know. This episode sucked though. I really couldn’t believe this was the same show that I had been watching since 2003. I think the problem with The O.C. is the show just aged too fast and got away from what made the first two years work. They should have stuck to the winning formula.

3. The Graduates- I know many fans will hate me for this but I think you can really judge how far the show had gone downhill by watching the first three season finales in a row like I did the day the final episode aired in 2007. The vibe of the show just feels dead before the opening, just dark and dull. The Seth burning down the office storyline was lame, Volchok was a lame villain, etc. And then to top it all off at the end The O.C. committed suicide by killing off their lead female, Marissa. The show had lost its way because of too much darkness and too much death, and the writers’ solution to lighten up the show was to kill one of the most beloved characters on the show? That is why Season 4’s light tone came off as so phony to me, after maybe 3 episodes the show immediately moved into a lighter tone and completely forgot about Marissa. Yes, I know Josh will say they spent the stupid Chrismukk-huh episode in honoring her, but that episode was basically the writers trying to rationalize her death by saying BUT RYAN GAVE HER 3 MORE YEARS! What they fail to realize is, this is a fictional show! You just shouldn’t have killed her off, that’s why you lost half your audience instantly after “The Graduates” aired. Sorry for the long rant.

2. The Heavy Lifting- After Johnny finally croaked I thought things would finally go back to normal and we’d get a solid second half of the season, but then his cousin Sadie showed up to help further kill the show. Johnny’s funeral and everything was melodramatic too.

1. The Road Warrior- Ryan and Marissa breaking up over the phone? Kiss my ass. Also Sadie and Ryan’s strip poker and their immediate romance just felt stupid after all the Johnny bullshit. I think the Seth lying stupid storyline its low with this episode too.

Leave a Reply

